CategoriesChallengesFlippedNormalsAugust – PiratesFlippedNormals Art Challenge – Pirates – [Bounty Hunter, Pirate's Job]

This topic contains 9 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by red 1 month ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)

• red
    Artist

FINAL SUBMISSION: https://www.artstation.com/artwork/QzZV24

screenshot003screenshot004

Please check the ArtStation link to see the Marmoset Viewer. There you will see the project in 3D and the topology.

I learned a lot in the process. I’m pretty happy with the result. I had to make a lot of research on the Internet and I expanded my knowledge in different aspects, specially in zbrush and substance painter.
    I know there are some mistakes but I can’t be remaking more my models because of the deadline. Probably you will notice some models changed and others are not in the final piece.

– Red

ORIGINAL POST:

Hello, I’m a self-taught artist who started to learn 3D modeling on Febrary 2019. I know that I’m pretty new with this but I’m very excited to participate in this challenge.

First of all I started with a brainstorm. I’m not a good drawer so I jump into Maya once I have a slightly idea of what I want to do.
    I just play with simple shapes to achieve a fast block out and see how it works my idea.
    Once I’m happy I start to work the low poly version.

This is what I have for now. This is not my final idea and I will probably change the position of the props, add more (like a pirate hat) or maybe change the whole shape of some of them.

First-Idea

I also prepared the fist prop to Zbrush. I named every thing with A##_low and A##_high. I use this script to name things just in 1 second.
    Then I just add some bevels with Chamfer mode Off to the version Ready_To_Zbrush. I know I can do this step directly in Zbrush but I’m more confident and I work faster in Maya.

Ready_To_Zbrush