CategoriesChallengesFlippedNormalsAugust – PiratesFlippedNormals Art Challenge – Pirates – Smugglers Cabin – COMPLETED

Tagged: 

This topic contains 14 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Nate Ayling 1 month ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)

• Nate Ayling
    Artist

FINAL SUBMISSION:

HighresScreenshot00064

See the full project uploaded here with a  further breakdown: https://www.artstation.com/artwork/qA386N

ORIGINAL POST

The Challenge Begins!

So this is my first time here on the forums, I have checked out the video content produced by FlippedNormals for a while and saw that there was a challenge happening through Facebook. I have got a month before uni kicks off again so I thought I would give a pirate themed environment a go!

I saw the below concept image, and although it looks initially quite complex, I feel like I can do a ,lot of it in a very modular fashion and with very few materials and meshes. I will mostly focus my time on the foliage int he scene as the jungle is the bulk of the scene. I will model some palm trees, other trees and also some shrubs bushes, some flowers for colour and grass.

I will add some more piratey things too the image as well. I am thinking a small rowing boat dragged up onto the shore. The main things I want to practice and improve throughout this challenge is going to be to improve the efficiency of my foliage production pipeline. As I go it will be great to get some tips and feedback and I aim to have keep this feed updated as I go, starting with a blockout and paint over.

Desert Island

Good luck all and I look forward to seeing what you produce!

Nate.

Nate Ayling
    Artist
    OP

The Blockout